Xtract - Data Cube - V0.91 (Ready for release!)

Utilities like DBU, Make, IDE written in HMG/ used to create HMG based applications

Moderator: Rathinagiri

User avatar
Rathinagiri
Posts: 5173
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:30 pm
DBs Used: MariaDB, SQLite, SQLCipher and MySQL
Location: Sivakasi, India
Has thanked: 136 times
Been thanked: 131 times
Contact:

Xtract - Data Cube - V0.91 (Ready for release!)

Post by Rathinagiri » Wed Nov 11, 2009 4:28 am

Hi friends,

I am so happy to announce about the new version of Xtract.

Now you can download the latest version of Xtract - DataCube (0.91) HMG Utility. More details about this utility can be seen here.
extract0.91.zip
(13.51 KiB) Downloaded 402 times
Change log:

- Single window system
- Data Cube Skeleton
- Major user interface change (see screen shot)
- Automatic Data Cube creation on the fly
- Filter for each Field (Thanks Fernando Chirico)
- Separate colors for row,col,data placement
- Print Data Cube
- Fixed various bugs (Thanks Sudip)
- Optimized code

I request you to check and give your comments.

Todo:

- Drawing appropriate graphs from the data cube for better interpretation.
- Multiple data operations on a single field (for example what would be the maximum discount and minimum discount?)
- Extending to more operations (average, monthly summation for date fields... etc)
xtract.jpg
xtract.jpg (98.46 KiB) Viewed 5126 times

Tristan
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 2:15 pm

Post by Tristan » Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:04 am

I get error when compile.
Attachments
extract.JPG
extract.JPG (62.02 KiB) Viewed 5145 times

User avatar
Rathinagiri
Posts: 5173
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:30 pm
DBs Used: MariaDB, SQLite, SQLCipher and MySQL
Location: Sivakasi, India
Has thanked: 136 times
Been thanked: 131 times
Contact:

Post by Rathinagiri » Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:09 am

You have to include the 'hfcl' library.

This can be added in HMG-IDE configuration tab, additional libs.
xtract1.jpg
xtract1.jpg (35.72 KiB) Viewed 5143 times
East or West HMG is the Best.
South or North HMG is worth.
...the possibilities are endless.

User avatar
Rathinagiri
Posts: 5173
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:30 pm
DBs Used: MariaDB, SQLite, SQLCipher and MySQL
Location: Sivakasi, India
Has thanked: 136 times
Been thanked: 131 times
Contact:

Post by Rathinagiri » Wed Nov 11, 2009 8:44 am

I had updated the version 0.90 file with 0.91. The new feature is the possibility of filters.
East or West HMG is the Best.
South or North HMG is worth.
...the possibilities are endless.

User avatar
sudip
Posts: 1444
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 11:52 am
Location: Kolkata, WB, India
Has thanked: 4 times

Post by sudip » Wed Nov 11, 2009 11:56 am

Rathi,
Thanks a lot for this excellent software :D
It works fine. I tested with the sample given (by looking at your screen images). It runs fine. :D And it is really fast :)
Please check one thing, output was not updated when I first selected a region (eg., East), it works fine when I clicked on the cell (East in my case) 2nd time.

I am very much interested in Sales Analysis software. May I use this with my future software?

Then I wanted to check whether it's idiot proof (like me ;) ) by double clicking on Filter grid without selecting anything and got following errors:

Code: Select all

Date:11/11/09 Time: 17:18:29
Error BASE/1111 Argument error: LEN

Called from LEN(0)
Called from CREATEREPORT(626)
Called from (b)DATAXTRACT(198)
Called from _DOCONTROLEVENTPROCEDURE(4740)
Called from EVENTS(2446)
Called from _DOMESSAGELOOP(0)
Called from _ACTIVATEWINDOW(4404)
Called from DOMETHOD(7260)
Called from DATAXTRACT(247)
Called from (b)MAIN(25)
Called from _DOCONTROLEVENTPROCEDURE(4740)
Called from EVENTS(1364)
Called from _DOMESSAGELOOP(0)
Called from _ACTIVATEWINDOW(4382)
Called from DOMETHOD(7260)
Called from MAIN(50)
With best regards.

Sudip
With best regards,
Sudip

User avatar
Vanguarda
Posts: 543
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 10:56 am
Location: Americana - SP
Contact:

Post by Vanguarda » Wed Nov 11, 2009 11:43 pm

Thanks Rathi, for this release. Great work.

My best regards,
--
Paulo Sérgio Durço (Vanguarda)


http://hmglights.wordpress.com/

User avatar
fchirico
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 11:27 pm
Location: Argentina

Post by fchirico » Thu Nov 12, 2009 1:19 am

rathinagiri wrote:Hi friends,

I request you to check and give your comments.
Español:

Estimado rathinagiri:


1- Si hago click sobre alguno de los campos de filtro antes de indicarle qué campos serán "ROW","COLUMMN" y "DATA"
aparecen errores.

2- En una nueva versión sería interesante que exista un botón de "REFRESH" para cuando se cambia algún filtro, de lo
contrario se debe hacer click en el DATACUBE y luego click en los campos de filtros para hacer "REFRESH" de el DATACUBE.

3- Para seleccionar filtros a veces ( cuando hay muchos registros ) se debe hacer doble click rápidamente sobre el campo
que se desea filtrar, de lo contrario muestra el mensaje "please wait while tabulating..." pero no trae los valores
(en el control) para poder seleccionar el valor por el que se desea filtrar. Si hago doble click sí los trae

4- Cuando se analizan datos con fechas, como por ejemplo ventas,se debe analizar por rangos de fechas, por lo que el
filtro actual en los campos FECHA no es cómodo, quizás sea conveniente antes de presionar el botón XTRACT poder
seleccionar de forma "SET FILTER TO" o similar.

5- Para no tener que ejecutar cada vez el mismo cubo o para analizar el resultado en otro momento o para trabajarlo con
otras herramientas sería interesante poder exportarlo a lo que tu quieras.

Quiero decirte que soy el FAN número uno de esta aplicación, creo que es un trabajo excelente.

Muchísimas gracias!

English:

Dear rathinagiri:


1 - If I click on any of the filter fields before tell which fields will be "ROW", "COLUMMN" and "DATA"
errors occur.

2 - In a new version would be interesting if there is a button "REFRESH" for when you change a filter, as
Otherwise it should click on the DATACUBE and then click in the fields of filters to "REFRESH" to the DATACUBE.

3 - To select filters sometimes (when there are many records) you must double-click quickly on the field
to be filtered, otherwise it displays the message "please wait while Tabulating ..." but do not bring the values
(in control) to select the value for which you want to filter. If I double click it brings

4 - When analyzing data with dates, such as sales, must be analyzed by date ranges, so the
Current Filter DATE fields in not comfortable, it might be advisable before pressing the power button XTRACT
so select "SET FILTER TO" or similar.

5 - To avoid having to run each time the same cube or to analyze the result in another time or to work with
other tools would be useful to export it to what you want.

I tell you I'm the number one fan of this application, I think it's an excellent job.

Many thanks!

Greetings, Fernando Chirico
Attachments
ejemplo.JPG
ejemplo.JPG (94.88 KiB) Viewed 5063 times
Saludos, Fernando Chirico.

Tristan
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 2:15 pm

Post by Tristan » Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:04 am

Dear Rathinagiri,

Thanks for fantastic example. I got an error again while compile v 0.91.

Regards,
Tristan
Attachments
extract.JPG
extract.JPG (62.07 KiB) Viewed 5054 times

User avatar
Rathinagiri
Posts: 5173
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:30 pm
DBs Used: MariaDB, SQLite, SQLCipher and MySQL
Location: Sivakasi, India
Has thanked: 136 times
Been thanked: 131 times
Contact:

Post by Rathinagiri » Fri Nov 13, 2009 5:59 pm

Sorry Tristan.

I am afraid you are using old HMG version. Had you updated to HMG 3.0 and HMG IDE for 3.0?

Or, you can simply add sampledata.prg to the sources and then recompile.
East or West HMG is the Best.
South or North HMG is worth.
...the possibilities are endless.

User avatar
Rathinagiri
Posts: 5173
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:30 pm
DBs Used: MariaDB, SQLite, SQLCipher and MySQL
Location: Sivakasi, India
Has thanked: 136 times
Been thanked: 131 times
Contact:

Post by Rathinagiri » Sat Nov 14, 2009 12:32 pm

Hi Fernando Chirico, Sudip and Vanguarda

Thanks for your compliments.

Now coming to your suggestions:
fchirico wrote: 1 - If I click on any of the filter fields before tell which fields will be "ROW", "COLUMMN" and "DATA"
errors occur.
The next version is coming shortly without this bug. :)
fchirico wrote: 2 - In a new version would be interesting if there is a button "REFRESH" for when you change a filter, as
Otherwise it should click on the DATACUBE and then click in the fields of filters to "REFRESH" to the DATACUBE.
I had given the toolbar buttons to either auto-create the cube or cube is created only after pressing the refresh button. I think this would be enough.
fchirico wrote: 3 - To select filters sometimes (when there are many records) you must double-click quickly on the field
to be filtered, otherwise it displays the message "please wait while Tabulating ..." but do not bring the values
(in control) to select the value for which you want to filter. If I double click it brings
This happens for a long table, especially having more number of rows/more number of columns. In that case, it is better to switch auto-cube off.
fchirico wrote: 4 - When analyzing data with dates, such as sales, must be analyzed by date ranges, so the
Current Filter DATE fields in not comfortable, it might be advisable before pressing the power button XTRACT
so select "SET FILTER TO" or similar.
Filter options are just primitive. Soon you can expect a better filtering interface and options.
fchirico wrote: 5 - To avoid having to run each time the same cube or to analyze the result in another time or to work with
other tools would be useful to export it to what you want.
I am planning to export the result to MS Excel/Openoffice Calc. Do you have any other options?
fchirico wrote: I tell you I'm the number one fan of this application, I think it's an excellent job.

Many thanks!

Greetings, Fernando Chirico
I am sure your suggestions are more helpful for me in fine-tuning the software. Thanks a lot and continue your support in the future also.
East or West HMG is the Best.
South or North HMG is worth.
...the possibilities are endless.

Post Reply