copy in W10

General Help regarding HMG, Compilation, Linking, Samples

Moderator: Rathinagiri

Post Reply
Templar
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 5:37 pm
DBs Used: DBF

copy in W10

Post by Templar »

I have converted my application from clipper and it works okay in Windows XP but I'm now having to move to Windows 10. It seems that this will not allow the "copy" command, either copying a whole file, or copying records into a new file. I presume that it doesn't allow new files to be created, which is in line with the "Big Brother Knows Best and You Know Nothing" that microsoft has been steadily adopting.

Is there a way round this?

Templar
User avatar
AUGE_OHR
Posts: 2060
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2019 3:12 pm
DBs Used: DBF, PostgreSQL, MySQL, SQLite
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: copy in W10

Post by AUGE_OHR »

hi,

not sure what you mean with "Copy" under Windows 10

this Tool can do what Windows Explorer can do ( Copy, Move Delete, Rename )
http://hmgforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=6285&start=40

---

how do you "transfer" your old Apps & Data to new PC :?: using a Backup App :?:
have you Check "Attribut" of your Files ... they might be "RO" ...
have fun
Jimmy
martingz
Posts: 394
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 11:14 pm
Location: Mexico

Re: copy in W10

Post by martingz »

I don't know who this code is from, but it helped me make my file copy programs

Function FILECOPY(cSource, cDestination, nBuffer, bBlock)
Local sourceHandle, destHandle, lSuccess:= .F., TmpBuff, LastPos
Local BuffPos, ByteCount, cBType:= ValType(bBlock)

Default nBuffer := 8192

If ( (sourceHandle:= fopen(cSource, 0)) != -1 )
If ( (destHandle:= fcreate(cDestination, 0)) != -1 )
LastPos:= fseek(sourceHandle, 0, 2)
BuffPos:= 0
ByteCount:= 0
fseek(sourceHandle, 0, 0)
Do While (BuffPos < LastPos)
TmpBuff := Space(nBuffer)
BuffPos += (ByteCount:= fread(sourceHandle, @TmpBuff, nBuffer))
fwrite(destHandle, TmpBuff, ByteCount)
If cBType == "B"
eval(bBlock, BuffPos / LastPos)
EndIf
EndDo
lSuccess:= fclose(destHandle)
EndIf
fclose(sourceHandle)
EndIf
inkey(1)
Return lSuccess
Templar
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 5:37 pm
DBs Used: DBF

Re: copy in W10

Post by Templar »

Thanks top you both. I found the problem: it won't allow you to copy files onto the root directory (or "folder", if you're a lot younger than me!)
Which is a PITA as that is where you can store all the initialisation details to tell the system where to look for stuff.
Anyway, I found a workaround which is okay but not as good as the original system.
Thanks again. Now next problem....
Templar
Post Reply