Using Browse()

General Help regarding HMG, Compilation, Linking, Samples

Moderator: Rathinagiri

Post Reply
CCH4CLIPPER
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:59 am

Using Browse()

Post by CCH4CLIPPER »

Hi

Why doesn't this work ?

#include "minigui.ch"

Function main()

DEFINE WINDOW Form_1 ;
AT 0,0 ;
WIDTH 600 ;
HEIGHT 400 ;
TITLE 'FAS4HMG' ;
MAIN

DEFINE MAIN MENU
ITEM '&Chart of Accounts' ACTION (BrowseGLAC())
END MENU
END WINDOW

CENTER WINDOW Form_1

ACTIVATE WINDOW Form_1

Return

function BrowseGlac
@ 10,10 BROWSE Browse_1 ;
WIDTH 610 ;
HEIGHT 390 ;
HEADERS { 'Code' , 'First Name' , 'Last Name', 'Birth Date', 'Married' , 'Biography' } ;
WIDTHS { 150 , 150 , 150 , 150 , 150 , 150 } ;
WORKAREA Test ;
FIELDS { 'Test->Code' , 'Test->First' , 'Test->Last' , 'Test->Birth' , 'Test->Married' , 'Test->Bio' } ;
VALUE 1 ;
EDIT ;
APPEND ;
VALID { { || MemVar.Test.Code <= 1000 } ,{ || !Empty(MemVar.Test.First) } , { || !Empty(MemVar.Test.Last) } , { || Year(MemVar.Test.Birth) >= 1900 } , , } ;
VALIDMESSAGES { 'Code Range: 0-1000', 'First Name Cannot Be Empty', , , , } ;
DELETE
return


ERROR.LOG

Date:06/03/2009 Time: 15:14:19
Error BASE/1081 Argument error: +

Called from _ISWINDOWDEFINED(2540)
Called from _DEFINEBROWSE(127)
Called from BROWSEGLAC(238)
Called from (b)MAIN(39)
Called from _DOCONTROLEVENTPROCEDURE(4394)
Called from EVENTS(1233)
Called from _DOMESSAGELOOP(0)
Called from _ACTIVATEWINDOW(4083)
Called from MAIN(221)


CCH
http://cch4clipper.blogspot.com
User avatar
Rathinagiri
Posts: 5471
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:30 pm
DBs Used: MariaDB, SQLite, SQLCipher and MySQL
Location: Sivakasi, India
Contact:

Re: Using Browse()

Post by Rathinagiri »

If you define a control outside the define window ... end window loop, you have to specify the parent window to which the control relates.

So, you have to add here,

@ 10,10 browse browse_1 of form_1
East or West HMG is the Best.
South or North HMG is worth.
...the possibilities are endless.
CCH4CLIPPER
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:59 am

Re: Using Browse()

Post by CCH4CLIPPER »

Hi Rathinagari

Thanx for the speedy response !
I will try it out.

Whilst waiting for an answer, I consulted yur very helpful hmg_help.chm and decided to do it as a CHILD window via a separate PRG. Take a look at my latest article at Clipper...Clipper... Clipper entitled " HMG : How to Create Browses, the easy way ?"

CCH
http://cch4clipper.blogspot.com
Post Reply