ComboBox in Grid Sample

HMG Samples and Enhancements

Moderator: Rathinagiri

Post Reply
User avatar
sudip
Posts: 1444
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 11:52 am
Location: Kolkata, WB, India
Has thanked: 4 times

ComboBox in Grid Sample

Post by sudip » Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:55 am

Hi,

I saw how to find COMBOBOX in GRID (Example Grid_7 onwards). Can I use non-numeric values (in most cases character) for combobox? I mean Item Description will be displayed in the combobox and item code will be stored in the array.

With best regards.

Sudip
With best regards,
Sudip

User avatar
Rathinagiri
Posts: 5172
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:30 pm
DBs Used: MariaDB, SQLite, SQLCipher and MySQL
Location: Sivakasi, India
Has thanked: 136 times
Been thanked: 131 times
Contact:

Post by Rathinagiri » Sat Mar 14, 2009 7:57 am

Combo box items are always 'character/string' and the referenced value is always 'numeric'. Does that solve your problem?
East or West HMG is the Best.
South or North HMG is worth.
...the possibilities are endless.

User avatar
sudip
Posts: 1444
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 11:52 am
Location: Kolkata, WB, India
Has thanked: 4 times

Post by sudip » Sat Mar 14, 2009 12:41 pm

Hello Rathinagiri,

Thank you, I am now confirmed. Actually I thought if there is any syntax like we have in browse like INPUTITEMS, DISPLAYITEMS... :)

Now I shall think the structure of logic of the array.

Yes, it just came to my mind:-

I shall store Description and Code (say ItemCode and ItemDesc) in 2 different arrays of same size.
Then I store the index number of the matching code in a different 2d array (which will be browsed through grid).
Then for COMBOBOX display purpose I can use the Description array.

... yes, I got it :) (may be I can't express my thought ;()

Thanks a lot.

With best regards.

Sudip
With best regards,
Sudip

Post Reply