HMG_aChoice + Grid = Incremental Search in Grid Cells

HMG Samples and Enhancements

Moderator: Rathinagiri

User avatar
Rathinagiri
Posts: 5471
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:30 pm
DBs Used: MariaDB, SQLite, SQLCipher and MySQL
Location: Sivakasi, India
Contact:

HMG_aChoice + Grid = Incremental Search in Grid Cells

Post by Rathinagiri »

Hi,

First of all I wish to state why couldn't I use HMG's default in-place edit (using combobox).

1. HMG's Grid Inplaceedit combobox controls are not sorted. Therefore, we can't have incremental search.
2. The combobox items are fixed.
3. The returned value is the numeric index and not the string selected. I wanted to have the string value and not the numeric index because I will change the list items subsequently.

So, I started working this HMG_aChoice. I think now, it has some shape to be used inside in-place edit of grid.

Here I attach a sample, where in HMG_aChoice being used in grid.

I have three columns in the grid, namely Departments, Items and Quantity. The items list would change according to the department selection.

Kindly review the code and give your comments and suggestions.
gridachoice.zip
(3.06 KiB) Downloaded 774 times
East or West HMG is the Best.
South or North HMG is worth.
...the possibilities are endless.
User avatar
esgici
Posts: 4543
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 9:17 pm
DBs Used: DBF
Location: iskenderun / Turkiye
Contact:

Re: HMG_aChoice + Grid = Incremental Search in Grid Cells

Post by esgici »

Hi Rathi

Good implementation, thanks :)

Some random thoughts :

- I couldn't understand functions of two (one at top and one bottom) separate text box.
- I couldn't change any existing value; when attempted cell become empty.
- (Probably by same cause) appended new row remain empty, I couldn't enter value.

Regards

--

Esgici
Viva INTERNATIONAL HMG :D
User avatar
Rathinagiri
Posts: 5471
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:30 pm
DBs Used: MariaDB, SQLite, SQLCipher and MySQL
Location: Sivakasi, India
Contact:

Re: HMG_aChoice + Grid = Incremental Search in Grid Cells

Post by Rathinagiri »

Thanks Esgici.
- As the name suggests they are dummy and can be removed. :)
- Is it? You couldn't see the listbox?
- I could enter the value by pressing enter.
East or West HMG is the Best.
South or North HMG is worth.
...the possibilities are endless.
User avatar
esgici
Posts: 4543
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 9:17 pm
DBs Used: DBF
Location: iskenderun / Turkiye
Contact:

Re: HMG_aChoice + Grid = Incremental Search in Grid Cells

Post by esgici »

rathinagiri wrote: - Is it? You couldn't see the listbox?
Neither in grid cell nor in listbox :(
rathinagiri wrote: - I could enter the value by pressing enter.
Pressing enter erase content of cell :(

Regards

--

Esgici
Viva INTERNATIONAL HMG :D
User avatar
Rathinagiri
Posts: 5471
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:30 pm
DBs Used: MariaDB, SQLite, SQLCipher and MySQL
Location: Sivakasi, India
Contact:

Re: HMG_aChoice + Grid = Incremental Search in Grid Cells

Post by Rathinagiri »

In that case, please use this exe file and tell me your experience!
gridachoice.zip
(681.16 KiB) Downloaded 690 times
East or West HMG is the Best.
South or North HMG is worth.
...the possibilities are endless.
User avatar
sudip
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 11:52 am
Location: Kolkata, WB, India

Re: HMG_aChoice + Grid = Incremental Search in Grid Cells

Post by sudip »

Hi Rathi,

Thanks a lot :D
Great!!! :o
It work fine :D
Excellent code :D
With best regards,
Sudip
User avatar
esgici
Posts: 4543
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 9:17 pm
DBs Used: DBF
Location: iskenderun / Turkiye
Contact:

Re: HMG_aChoice + Grid = Incremental Search in Grid Cells

Post by esgici »

rathinagiri wrote:In that case, please use this exe file and tell me your experience!
Sorry, nothing changed :(

I'm afraid that my steps may be wrong :

- Double click grid cell ( list box open, cell and item in listbox highlighted)
- Enter new value over existing one
- Press enter key
- Cell is empty
- Double click same (empty) grid cell again : ( list box open, the old value is in the list)

By the way, it seems that an old dream of Sudip coming to reality :D

Regards

--

Esgici
Last edited by esgici on Thu Dec 27, 2012 2:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Viva INTERNATIONAL HMG :D
User avatar
Rathinagiri
Posts: 5471
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:30 pm
DBs Used: MariaDB, SQLite, SQLCipher and MySQL
Location: Sivakasi, India
Contact:

Re: HMG_aChoice + Grid = Incremental Search in Grid Cells

Post by Rathinagiri »

Sorry Esgici. I think you misunderstood.

You can not add anything to any list! There are only three departments and each department has three items each. Full stop. :) From that you have to select one. That's all.
East or West HMG is the Best.
South or North HMG is worth.
...the possibilities are endless.
User avatar
Rathinagiri
Posts: 5471
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:30 pm
DBs Used: MariaDB, SQLite, SQLCipher and MySQL
Location: Sivakasi, India
Contact:

Re: HMG_aChoice + Grid = Incremental Search in Grid Cells

Post by Rathinagiri »

Here is a small improvement which would save some keystrokes.
gridachoice.zip
(3.2 KiB) Downloaded 632 times
East or West HMG is the Best.
South or North HMG is worth.
...the possibilities are endless.
User avatar
esgici
Posts: 4543
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 9:17 pm
DBs Used: DBF
Location: iskenderun / Turkiye
Contact:

Re: HMG_aChoice + Grid = Incremental Search in Grid Cells

Post by esgici »

rathinagiri wrote:I think you misunderstood.
Yes, sorry :(
rathinagiri wrote:You can not add anything to any list! There are only three departments and each department has three items each. Full stop. :) From that you have to select one. That's all.
While testing, I want think and behave as soon as possible like an clumsy user, I guess this is necessary and useful.

After you had permitted enter somethings to anywhere to user, you haven't right to saying "you can't enter anything here!"; does I'm wrong ?

Regards

--

Esgici
Viva INTERNATIONAL HMG :D
Post Reply