Edit Extended / Edit WorkArea - ABM / ABM2

Topic Specific Tutorials and Tips.

Moderator: Rathinagiri

Post Reply
t57042
Posts: 148
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 9:46 am
Location: belgium
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: recordlocking

Post by t57042 » Sun Nov 18, 2012 7:03 pm

My problem is not that I do not understand the different locking methods.
I want the EDIT EXTENDED to work with 'prelocking' - but I don' t know how to adapt the code.

Richard

User avatar
esgici
Posts: 4518
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 9:17 pm
DBs Used: DBF
Location: iskenderun / Turkiye
Has thanked: 391 times
Been thanked: 111 times
Contact:

Post by esgici » Mon Nov 19, 2012 12:22 am

Hi Richard

Something like this does will help you ?
EdRExtRLockFail.PNG
Screen shoot for Edit Extended with pre-lock
EdRExtRLockFail.PNG (24.77 KiB) Viewed 2607 times
EditRExtCB19.zip
Source files for Edit Extended with pre-lock
(37.99 KiB) Downloaded 164 times
Happy HMG'ing :D
Viva INTERNATIONAL HMG :D

t57042
Posts: 148
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 9:46 am
Location: belgium
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Post by t57042 » Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:34 pm

Hi Esgici,

Very nice job, I just had the time for a quick first look... some rermarks:

1. When a user Cancels or OK a record that is edited the record should be immediatly UNLOCKED (I think it stays locked until other record is selected)

2. When a user intends to add a NEW record (append blank) other users get (sometimes) RECORD LOCKED. Other users must do another append blank and lock that one.
The way it works now, only one user can enter new data.

3. When deleting a record I sometimes get: "record locked by another user" (something left from original code?)

4.. The text could be: Record is locked by another user; please try again.

Best regards
Richard

t57042
Posts: 148
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 9:46 am
Location: belgium
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Post by t57042 » Mon Nov 19, 2012 4:49 pm

t57042 wrote:Hi Esgici,

Very nice job, I just had the time for a quick first look... some rermarks:

1. When a user Cancels or OK a record that is edited the record should be immediatly UNLOCKED (I think it stays locked until other record is selected)

2. When a user intends to add a NEW record (append blank) other users get (sometimes) RECORD LOCKED. Other users must do another append blank and lock that one.
The way it works now, only one user can enter new data.

3. When deleting a record I sometimes get: "record locked by another user" (something left from original code?)

4.. The text could be: Record is locked by another user; please try again.

Best regards
Richard
I had a little more time and figured finally out how the .CH system works.
I already corrected points 1 and 4.
I get back when have more.

regards

Richard

User avatar
esgici
Posts: 4518
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 9:17 pm
DBs Used: DBF
Location: iskenderun / Turkiye
Has thanked: 391 times
Been thanked: 111 times
Contact:

Post by esgici » Mon Nov 19, 2012 5:00 pm

t57042 wrote: I had a little more time and figured finally out how the .CH system works.
Good news :)
I already corrected points 1 and 4.
I get back when have more.
OK, I'll wait.

Regards
Viva INTERNATIONAL HMG :D

t57042
Posts: 148
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 9:46 am
Location: belgium
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Post by t57042 » Thu Nov 22, 2012 3:31 pm

Hello,

Included is zip file containing changes for Prelock of records in multuser network:

1. When opening dbf check is made to see if file is not exlusively in use by someone else.
2. When adding, deleting and editing a record it is locked before action
and unlocked when saving (or cancel) the action.

regards

Richard
Attachments
edit_ex.zip
(37.08 KiB) Downloaded 187 times

User avatar
esgici
Posts: 4518
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 9:17 pm
DBs Used: DBF
Location: iskenderun / Turkiye
Has thanked: 391 times
Been thanked: 111 times
Contact:

Post by esgici » Thu Nov 22, 2012 5:08 pm

Good :)

Thanks to share.

Regards
Viva INTERNATIONAL HMG :D

t57042
Posts: 148
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 9:46 am
Location: belgium
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Post by t57042 » Sat Nov 24, 2012 4:09 pm

The language selection doesn't seem to work here.
I tried to set it with HB_LANGSELECT in the sourcecode and with the 'language select' option in the menu.
Always get english.

How does it work?
Where is the sourcefile with the differnet language texts?

Richard

t57042
Posts: 148
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 9:46 am
Location: belgium
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Post by t57042 » Sun Nov 25, 2012 7:45 pm

With version 3.0.28 it works - with version 3.0.48 it doesn't?

User avatar
esgici
Posts: 4518
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 9:17 pm
DBs Used: DBF
Location: iskenderun / Turkiye
Has thanked: 391 times
Been thanked: 111 times
Contact:

Post by esgici » Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:21 am

t57042 wrote:With version 3.0.28 it works - with version 3.0.48 it doesn't?
It's just time of jump to UT8 ;)

Regards
Viva INTERNATIONAL HMG :D

Post Reply