Installing 64 bit HMG with 32 bit already working

Moderator: Rathinagiri

bluebird
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 3:55 am
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Installing 64 bit HMG with 32 bit already working

Post by bluebird » Thu Nov 23, 2017 9:28 pm

Dear HMG mentors

I would like to try to install HMG 64 bit. I have already downloaded HARBOUR-64 (nightly 2016-04-20), and MinGW-64_ver.5.3.0 archives
but they are sitting in my downloads folder waiting the courage to proceed.

If I procede to install, will I end up with a new HMG64 directory independent of the present 3.4.4 32 bit directories, or will the present contents be
overwritten?

Can anyone point to the simplest set of instructions?

Any warnings of caveats in the process would be appreciated.

Thank You in advance

User avatar
gcarrizo
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:20 pm
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Post by gcarrizo » Fri Nov 24, 2017 11:31 am

Well i was follow this steps.

1º Copy the present 3.4.4 32 bit folder to another folder like backup
2º Install HMG 64 bit to 3.4.4 32 bit folder
3º Verify if it's works , first compiling through IDE in 32 bit and late 64 bit ...
4º If 64 bit compiler not work just verify path parameter into .bat files

Enjoy it
Best Regards

bluebird
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 3:55 am
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Post by bluebird » Fri Nov 24, 2017 8:37 pm

Thank you for taking the time to respond.

When you say Install HMG 64 bit to 3.4.4 32 bit folder , then when do the
2 RAR files get added, ie. HARBOUR-64 (nightly 2016-04-20), and MinGW-64_ver.5.3.0 archives ?

Thanks

User avatar
gcarrizo
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:20 pm
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Post by gcarrizo » Tue Nov 28, 2017 7:03 pm

Better an image than a hundred words.

8-)
capture.jpg
My current file structure
capture.jpg (216.01 KiB) Viewed 277 times

bluebird
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 3:55 am
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Post by bluebird » Thu Nov 30, 2017 11:50 pm

gcarrizo wrote:
Tue Nov 28, 2017 7:03 pm
Better an image than a hundred words.

8-)

capture.jpg
I installed as you said. My c:\HMG3.4.4 directory has the same folders as yours does ***except**** I am missing the folder named OBJ. Also I am getting messages that HBMK2 is not recognized. :(

Thanks for you help.

User avatar
gcarrizo
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:20 pm
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Post by gcarrizo » Fri Dec 01, 2017 1:29 pm

Well my OBJ folder are empty ... LOL :lol:
I work with IDE unicode. 32 & 64 without troubles
If your like can compare my batch files with yours .
Attachments
batches-hmg.3.4.4.zip
(10.8 KiB) Downloaded 10 times

bluebird
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 3:55 am
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Post by bluebird » Fri Dec 01, 2017 6:35 pm

Thanks, I used you batch files and get the following result

If I try to build an exe file INSIDE the c:\HMG.3.4.4 directory it works :)

if I copy build64.bat to c:\HMG.3.4.4\ mysourecode directory if fails :(
I get messages that "windres" and "HMG2" are not recognized as an internal or external command.

It seems that these file, which are definitely present , are not visible to Build64.

I thank you for you patience and help ...... I am close to success

User avatar
gcarrizo
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:20 pm
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Post by gcarrizo » Mon Dec 04, 2017 5:22 pm

bluebird wrote:
Fri Dec 01, 2017 6:35 pm
Thanks, I used you batch files and get the following result

If I try to build an exe file INSIDE the c:\HMG.3.4.4 directory it works :)

if I copy build64.bat to c:\HMG.3.4.4\ mysourecode directory if fails :(
I get messages that "windres" and "HMG2" are not recognized as an internal or external command.

It seems that these file, which are definitely present , are not visible to Build64.

I thank you for you patience and help ...... I am close to success
trough to IDE ?
How do that ...? explain me please .

Regards

bluebird
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 3:55 am
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Post by bluebird » Tue Dec 05, 2017 7:57 pm

I can now say that building in 64 bits is working. The only thing I would like to know is whether the result is really
a 64 bit exe since the BCC55 compiler is only 32 bit capable.

Thanks to everyone for helping me get there.

User avatar
andyglezl
Posts: 859
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 7:58 pm
Location: Guadalajara Jalisco, MX
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 25 times
Contact:

Post by andyglezl » Tue Dec 05, 2017 9:49 pm

Hola Bluebird

Si estas hablando de HMG 3.4.4, de donde tomas el BCC55 compiler ???
Según entiendo, HMG 3.4.4 trabaja con el compilador MingW

Si ya pudiste compilar con el compilador de 64, tu .exe debería de trabajar en una
máquina de 64.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hello Bluebird

If you are talking about HMG 3.4.4, where do you take the BCC55 compiler ???
As I understand it, HMG 3.4.4 works with the MingW compiler

If you were already able to compile with the 64-compiler, your .exe should work in a
64 machine.
Andrés González López
Desde Guadalajara, Jalisco. México.

Post Reply