Help - Do I use hmg or minigui extended

Moderator: Rathinagiri

Post Reply
billivet
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 12:44 pm
Contact:

Help - Do I use hmg or minigui extended

Post by billivet » Wed Oct 26, 2016 12:21 pm

Hi All
Have a program I wrote years ago and have running in hmg in console mode and want to make gui.
Is a racehorse rating program and displaying data and fiddling with it is the main scenario.
Used a few one to many browses (used TPBrowse - was program around years ago).
In these browses do child browse from main and has the ability to hit function keys in both to do more browses or display other relevant data.
Also does incremental searches in other browses or arrays - eg hit abc goes to first a ab first ab etc.
Been looking at hmg and minigui trying to decide which way to go.- emailed Rathinagiri and he said to send explanation of program and some source doe for you gurus to examine.
Have included explanation in text file with links to a few screens and the tpbrowse program and one calling it.
This stuff will take you guys back years.
Thanks
Attachments
for hmg.rar
(14.44 KiB) Downloaded 181 times

User avatar
Pablo César
Posts: 4059
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 1:18 pm
Location: Curitiba - Brasil
Has thanked: 100 times
Been thanked: 182 times

Post by Pablo César » Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:52 pm

Hi Billi,

Welcome to our community. HMG or HMG Extended. I would say to you, this is not so important for you now. Because basically are quite the same graphic library concept. And the important for you it is starting with GUI programmation.

Console programming is so big different than GUI one. You should take knowledge how it works each controls. You have Browses and Grids. With databases and by arrays.

You have to throw away all screens part of your console codes because you will need to start with IDE to build new forms.
HMGing a better world
"Matter tells space how to curve, space tells matter how to move."
Albert Einstein

billivet
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 12:44 pm
Contact:

Post by billivet » Wed Oct 26, 2016 8:16 pm

Hi Pablo
Thanks for the reply and welcoming.
I realized is a start from scratch and progress from the 80's but was looking at all the examples of both to try and work out the differences in functionality of browse between the two and also grid v's browse. There are examples in extended with tsbrowse of grabbing keystrokes.
Can you use tsbrowse in hmg - I tried compiling the source code of tsbrowse lib in hmg but no go.
So I suppose my question is - does hmg browse (or grid) have the same versatilityy as tsbrowse and if not can you uae tsbrowse in hmg.
Thanks again

User avatar
Pablo César
Posts: 4059
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 1:18 pm
Location: Curitiba - Brasil
Has thanked: 100 times
Been thanked: 182 times

Post by Pablo César » Wed Oct 26, 2016 10:37 pm

Hi Billi,

There is not tsbrowse in hmg. Some post relates about it at:

viewtopic.php?p=4778#p4778
viewtopic.php?p=31710#p31710

Browse in HMG is considered obsolect.
HMGing a better world
"Matter tells space how to curve, space tells matter how to move."
Albert Einstein

User avatar
mol
Posts: 3227
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 5:31 am
Location: Myszków, Poland
Has thanked: 224 times
Been thanked: 127 times
Contact:

Post by mol » Thu Oct 27, 2016 5:32 am

billivet wrote:Hi Pablo
Thanks for the reply and welcoming.
I realized is a start from scratch and progress from the 80's but was looking at all the examples of both to try and work out the differences in functionality of browse between the two and also grid v's browse. There are examples in extended with tsbrowse of grabbing keystrokes.
Can you use tsbrowse in hmg - I tried compiling the source code of tsbrowse lib in hmg but no go.
So I suppose my question is - does hmg browse (or grid) have the same versatilityy as tsbrowse and if not can you uae tsbrowse in hmg.
Thanks again
Some years ago, Grigori Filatov adapted tsbrowse for HMG. But, it doesn't work in current version..

User avatar
serge_girard
Posts: 2348
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 2:44 pm
DBs Used: 1 MySQL - MariaDB
2 DBF
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 590 times
Been thanked: 124 times
Contact:

Post by serge_girard » Thu Oct 27, 2016 7:49 am

Hi Billivet ,

Welcome from Belgium!

Serge

User avatar
Pablo César
Posts: 4059
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 1:18 pm
Location: Curitiba - Brasil
Has thanked: 100 times
Been thanked: 182 times

Post by Pablo César » Thu Oct 27, 2016 9:14 am

Here's the tsbrowse topic:

viewtopic.php?p=11349#p11349

But is still faulty...
HMGing a better world
"Matter tells space how to curve, space tells matter how to move."
Albert Einstein

billivet
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 12:44 pm
Contact:

Post by billivet » Fri Oct 28, 2016 2:55 am

Thanks for the replies and welcoming.
Will grid in HMG provide the functionality I need.
You have to understand my lack of knowledge hence my silly questions.
Thanks

User avatar
Rathinagiri
Posts: 5264
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:30 pm
DBs Used: MariaDB, SQLite, SQLCipher and MySQL
Location: Sivakasi, India
Has thanked: 169 times
Been thanked: 172 times
Contact:

Post by Rathinagiri » Fri Oct 28, 2016 7:27 am

IMHO, HMG Grid is also sufficiently versatile.

Do you need any particular feature? If you can tell so, we can tell you whether that facility is available or not.
East or West HMG is the Best.
South or North HMG is worth.
...the possibilities are endless.

Post Reply