G'day from Melbourne, Oz

New members who wish to post and participate in HMG Forum, please introduce yourselves in this forum by starting a new thread.

Moderator: Rathinagiri

serowe

G'day from Melbourne, Oz

Post by serowe »

I started programming in Clipper back around the late 80's as a means to sort and extract data from huge numbers of phone bills we received where I worked at the time (Australian Bureau of Meteorology or Weather Bureau).

At the same time my 'part time job' needed a better solution for timing of motor sport events - first came the Commodore 64, then the 128 and then the migration from C64/128 compiled basic to PC programs and Clipper fell right into this project.

During this time I had a LOT of fun with Clipper - doing things I was told, at the time, couldn't be done. I didn't believe these 'nay-sayers' and so began nearly 20 years of playing with Clipper (under DOS!) doing things such as driving remote TV screens and terminals; sending live timing and result data to outside broadcasters for live transmission to air on TV; driving secondary displays which were then transmitted via local TV transmitters (the first in late 1986 covering a huge area - at that time - of around a square mile); and then, eventually, feeding live information directly to a web site so that there was no more than a gap of 1.5 seconds from when a car crossed the timing line until it was shown/available on the web site.

Also had a lot of fun back then with the CUG(M) (Clipper User Group (Melbourne)), beta testing products (still don't like VO!) and the others who were also active in these groups and areas.

Ahhh those were the days!

Even today, there are still a couple of clubs using my old DOS/Clipper software for their timing. As their timekeepers say - no having to worry about Windows, drivers - a very basic old machine and they are off and running.