ToolTips in StatusBar

Creative ideas/suggestions for HMG

Moderator: Rathinagiri

Post Reply
User avatar
Pablo César
Posts: 4059
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 1:18 pm
Location: Curitiba - Brasil

ToolTips in StatusBar

Post by Pablo César »

Before posting this new topic I thought a lot if it would consider an HMG bug or some API limitation. That is, I can not enable/display ToolTip in the StatusBar Item, unless the cell size is smaller than the text it displays.

I have just reformulated the StatusBar of the InstalledAt application and I need to display the appropriate ToolTip when positioning on items especially when RAISED style.

I know it looks redundant, but since I use the statusbar click for an action it would also need to show extra help to the user.
 
Screen48.png
Screen48.png (21.67 KiB) Viewed 3231 times
 
Claudio, is this an API limitation or can it be forced to always display the ToolTip in the StatusBar?
HMGing a better world
"Matter tells space how to curve, space tells matter how to move."
Albert Einstein
User avatar
srvet_claudio
Posts: 2193
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 8:43 pm
Location: Uruguay
Contact:

Re: ToolTips in StatusBar

Post by srvet_claudio »

I'm sorry Pablo but I do not understand your question.
Best regards.
Dr. Claudio Soto
(from Uruguay)
http://srvet.blogspot.com
User avatar
Pablo César
Posts: 4059
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 1:18 pm
Location: Curitiba - Brasil

ToolTips in StatusBar

Post by Pablo César »

Hi Claudio, more one question:

Is would it be workable SET TOOLTIPCUSTOMDRAW CONTROL for STATUSBAR :?:

The StatusBar name control is: STATUSBAR (doesn't it ?) but seems not working with TOOLTIPCUSTOMDRAW :|

Rgds
Last edited by Pablo César on Tue Jan 10, 2017 11:58 pm, edited 2 times in total.
HMGing a better world
"Matter tells space how to curve, space tells matter how to move."
Albert Einstein
User avatar
Pablo César
Posts: 4059
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 1:18 pm
Location: Curitiba - Brasil

ToolTips in StatusBar

Post by Pablo César »

srvet_claudio wrote: Tue Jan 10, 2017 11:32 pm I'm sorry Pablo but I do not understand your question.
Hola Claudio, (tudo bem... eso porque nos complicamos en otro idioma...)

Lo que parece ser un BUG y no estoy seguro: si es un bug que puede ser corregido en HMG o si es un limitacion del API que no está permitiendo visualizar siempre los ToolTips que se define en el StatusBar.

Code: Select all

DEFINE STATUSBAR FONT "Courier New" SIZE 9 BOLD
	STATUSITEM "[Esc] to exit or [Double-Click] to select",64) TOOLTIP "Click here to change installation mode"
	STATUSITEM "REGISTERED" WIDTH 110 RAISED ACTION MsgInfo("Do something") TOOLTIP "Click here to change installation mode"
END STATUSBAR
Esto deberia funcionar, pero no siempre. Es decir. Lo hace unicamente si uno achica la ventana y los itens del StatusBar quedan cortados... aí si funciona. Pero si la ventana es NOSIZE ai no funciona... :|

Yo quisiera que funcionara siempre, principalmente los itens que son del tipo RAISED (que se asemejan a botones) y que ejecutan algo.

No lo estoy podiendo hacer funcionar. :oops:

Slds
 
Googled
Hello Claudio

What seems to be a BUG and I'm not sure: whether it is a bug that can be fixed in HMG or if it is an API limitation that is not always allowing the ToolTips to be defined in the StatusBar.

<Source code above>

This should work, but not always. That is to say. It does this only if one shrinks the window and the StatusBar items are cut ... there it works. : |

I want it to always work, mainly items that are of type RAISED (that resemble buttons) and that execute something.

I can not make it work. :oops: :Oops:

Rgds
HMGing a better world
"Matter tells space how to curve, space tells matter how to move."
Albert Einstein
User avatar
srvet_claudio
Posts: 2193
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 8:43 pm
Location: Uruguay
Contact:

Re: ToolTips in StatusBar

Post by srvet_claudio »

Ok, ahora entiendo. Voy a mirar el código fuente.
Best regards.
Dr. Claudio Soto
(from Uruguay)
http://srvet.blogspot.com
Post Reply