Direct and Indirect accessing Table

Discuss anything else that does not suite other forums.

Moderator: Rathinagiri

Post Reply
User avatar
sudip
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 11:52 am
Location: Kolkata, WB, India

Direct and Indirect accessing Table

Post by sudip »

Hello Friends,

We can access tables for data manipulation both Directly and Indirectly (using memory variables or temporary/memory tables).

I prefer indirect method because
1) Less data corruption.
2) Using SQL tables.

Can you please send your views regarding this :)

Thanks in advance :)

With best regards.

Sudip
With best regards,
Sudip
User avatar
Rathinagiri
Posts: 5471
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:30 pm
DBs Used: MariaDB, SQLite, SQLCipher and MySQL
Location: Sivakasi, India
Contact:

Re: Direct and Indirect accessing Table

Post by Rathinagiri »

In this regard, these are my views/experiences.

Previously, when I use dbf tables alone, I directly handled data without much of temporary variables.

As time passed by, I started using SQL record sets and I stored the record sets in temporary variables.

Now, I use SQL record sets but reduced the usage of temporary variables/arrays. ie., I store the values directly in HMG controls like textbox, grid etc., This had improved the coding and variable handling a LOT.
East or West HMG is the Best.
South or North HMG is worth.
...the possibilities are endless.
User avatar
sudip
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 11:52 am
Location: Kolkata, WB, India

Re: Direct and Indirect accessing Table

Post by sudip »

rathinagiri wrote: Now, I use SQL record sets but reduced the usage of temporary variables/arrays. ie., I store the values directly in HMG controls like textbox, grid etc., This had improved the coding and variable handling a LOT.
Great :) If your code directly stores table data in form controls (without storing the recordset into an array)? If yes (now you know what I am going to ask ;) ) can you please send a small sample?

With best regards.

Sudip
With best regards,
Sudip
User avatar
Rathinagiri
Posts: 5471
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:30 pm
DBs Used: MariaDB, SQLite, SQLCipher and MySQL
Location: Sivakasi, India
Contact:

Re: Direct and Indirect accessing Table

Post by Rathinagiri »

Hi Sudip,

In this place, I am to say negative. Since harbour and SQL API's deals record sets in arrays, when getting the record sets ("select" queries), I am bound to use array variables.
East or West HMG is the Best.
South or North HMG is worth.
...the possibilities are endless.
User avatar
sudip
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 11:52 am
Location: Kolkata, WB, India

Re: Direct and Indirect accessing Table

Post by sudip »

Thanks a lot Friend :)
So, we may say that using SQL we use indirect accessing table using temporary array (unlike BROWSE) :)
If SQLRDD is capable to manipulate data in tables using ordinary xBase commands, we can use direct access with SQL tables also. Am I correct?
With best regards.
Sudip
With best regards,
Sudip
Post Reply