About Harbour Future...

Discuss anything else that does not suite other forums.

Moderator: Rathinagiri

Roberto Lopez
HMG Founder

About Harbour Future...

Post by Roberto Lopez »

Hi All,

A couple of hours ago I've posted the following message in the Harbour developers mailing list.

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Hi All,

I'm developing an application right now, but, since the application must be accessible to the general public via the web, I've decided to use HTML+PHP+MYSQL.

As an xBase programmer I feel very bad.

I could use Harbour CGI but, run binaries on web servers are not always possible and not available at some hosting services (and IMHO a 'dying' technology anyway).

Some time ago, in this list, someone (I not remember exactly who) said something like that more important that GUIs for different platforms, the web development must be one of the main interest in the future Harbour development.

I absolutely agree with that, but I think that the approach should be a quite different from the ones proposed here.

I guess that the web browsers should be considered as operating systems (or platforms) by itself and that Harbour should be capable of creating 'executables' for such platforms.

That means that Harbour should be capable of create JavaScript code.

I know that It could be tremendous effort to do such thing, that JavaScript is extremely weak and limited compared with C, but as a first goal for this project, only subset of current Harbour features could be supported.

I'm not thinking in a VM wrote in JavaScript, but perhaps, a Harbour to JavaScript translator could be a good idea.

Regarding GUI, interface objects defined via the Clipper 5.3 syntax should be enough to satisfy most of usual needs on web development, so old code could be reused with few changes.