Page 2 of 4

Call_IDE - Utility for HMG IDE

Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 2:52 pm
by Pablo César
Hi Serge thank you for your interest and replying.

Now my family calls me to leave, but never mind to be late if so I can respond and hope to do well to make it clear.
 
 
  1. PRG and HBP created but in the folder Call_IDE
    I don't know how you have called the Call_IDE in prompt command but I believe this probably happened because you ran Call_IDE on the command line where Call_IDE is stored (#1).
    If you are calling the Call_IDE <Name_of_Project> and if you did it without mentioning the full path where the project must be created then it will creates at current folder.
     
    Additional notes:
    #1. Where Call_IDE is placed, is not the best place to create your projects as you said yourself. Note that the Call_IDE Setup screen has a CheckBox that says "Make this program executable from everywhere (Prompt and Explorer)". This means that when be selected and confirmed, Call_IDE can be called from any folder (is in the PATH). More precisely it creates a file in the System32 folder of your Windows which allows you to be called from anywhere.
     
  2. this should adjusted to a specific dirve/path/folder.
    Call_IDE already does this. It checks whether the full_path + project_name has been informed in the parameter and then creates it in the right place and right name.
     
  3. What is the best place (folder) in order to get working right
    IMHO, all our projects must be stored in exclusive folder, according its functionality.
    The Call_IDE application must be in one place only. As I said before, it should be in a unique folder stored in a place of exclusive use or shared with other utilities (utilities with common support). In my case, I keep it in the folder together with the ViewError app where I have them in a folder named C:\HMGTools. But certainly the Call_IDE app does not have to be in the same folder where the new project will be created.
     
  4. So if the <param> from call_id <param> doesn't exist as a folder please create it too.
    In my opinion, create a new project folder, it would be up to the user to do it manually. For two reasons:
    1. The purpose of Call_IDE is not to create the folder. Although I could even help when it does not exist. But this requires some care. Imagine that the user mistakenly calls Call_IDE several times and it creates new folders. Many times the user will get lost. Maybe not you but some unsuspecting users yes.
       
    2. Create Project Folders Sometimes the user chooses to open them in restricted access places. I have seen users opening in the "My Documents" folder. This would require access rights as an administrator and requires extra care.
    I promise to think about it but this should be the responsibility of the programmer and not the application. The application must create or open (when it already exist) the right files for the IDE to work normally.
     
  5. Can this generated code made from a INI file? I need in almost any project the following:

    Code: Select all

    SET DATE FRENCH
    SET CENT ON
    SET DEFAULT TO ....
    SET PATH TO    ...
    SET TOOLTIPBACKCOLOR { 193, 224, 255}
    SET TOOLTIPSTYLE BALLOON
    SET LANGUAGE TO FRENCH
    hb_setcodepage("FRWIN")
    etc...
    
    Not thru by INI file. It already has a template file and in PRG format and it is saved where Call_IDE is stored. The template file is named: Template.prg and it is created, modified or deleted according to your confirmation on the second screen called "Preferences".
    There you can certainly edit and add the DEFAULT settings you want to have in future files generated by the application.
I hope I have answered all your questions properly.

I thank Serge for your feedback, because your doubts may be the same as any others may have and so we have clarified everything for the rest and for future use.

By the way (thanks to you) I noticed that even putting the full path, is not creating the project as it should in the right way and is not creating at all.

I noticed that when we put the project parameter, there comes a screen like this (OptionBox):
Image
And when the user presses ENTER, in that menu (RadioGroup) it would be returning zero wrong. I already corrected. This is because cRet was missing as an argument in the FUNCTION OptionBox_Ok (nRet).


Best regards,

Call_IDE - Utility for HMG IDE

Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 3:05 pm
by Pablo César
Version 1.3

Fixed a little bugs:
  • When user strikes a keyboard ENTER on OptionBox.
  • Icon at OptionBox
  • Change form titles
<Pack file was removed because there is a newest version ahead in this topic>

Re: Call_IDE - Utility for HMG IDE

Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 4:03 pm
by serge_girard
Thx Pablo, I got it now.
Found also the template.prg which is exactly what I meant.
Tomorrow further testing and evaluation!

Serge

Call_IDE - Utility for HMG IDE

Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 8:17 pm
by Pablo César
Thank you Serge.

Re: Call_IDE - Utility for HMG IDE

Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 10:58 am
by serge_girard
Pablo,

Another issue: calling HMG-IDE only when NOT running allready?

Serge

Call_IDE - Utility for HMG IDE

Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 12:42 pm
by Pablo César
Hi Serge,

You mean for Call_IDE not to open the same project in multiple instances?
I.e., to restore already open project?

It would have to check if the open project file is the same already open with the full path.
Otherwise could badly interpretes same hbp open (Demo1.hbp could have many files in the HD).

I do not know if that's possible.

Re: Call_IDE - Utility for HMG IDE

Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 1:29 pm
by serge_girard
No, I mean IDE.EXE is now executed each time. But this is not a big problem.
Serge

Call_IDE - Utility for HMG IDE

Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 6:44 pm
by Pablo César
But please tell me Serge: when you are working with two projects at the same time, are not there two instances of the IDE open ?

Which I think can be improved, so you do not open two instances of the same project with the IDE.
 
Windows Task Manager.png
Windows Task Manager.png (22.2 KiB) Viewed 3933 times
 
Because through GetProcessFullName() I believe I can get the name of the project open and restore it instead of opening another new instance of the IDE.

Re: Call_IDE - Utility for HMG IDE

Posted: Mon Jan 30, 2017 8:48 am
by serge_girard
Yes, I work with HMG 3.4.2 and also have 3.4.3 but the last one crashes often. That's why I use 3.4.2
But not 2 projects at the same time... I'm not so multitasking as my PC...

Serge

Call_IDE - Utility for HMG IDE

Posted: Mon Jan 30, 2017 9:39 am
by Pablo César
Serge wrote:Yes, I work with HMG 3.4.2 and also have 3.4.3 but the last one crashes often. That's why I use 3.4.2
Ohhh yes, me too.
This you can let it configured to open IDE always at 3.4.2.

What I do to keep last version working and I copy the IDE.exe which is in 3.4.2 into 3.4.3 IDE folder (keeping IDE.exe as name).
But before I rename the IDE of 3.4.3 version (the one with the debugger).
But not 2 projects at the same time... I'm not so multitasking as my PC...
I do often this. Sometime I need to see or copy forms or part of their codes.
At this Call_IDE pack is also working with another project HMG_Version\InstalledAt and I have fixed many things between them at the same time or alternately at least.

Remember that properly configured Call_IDE can open in your choice any of the IDE now installed on your HD. Be it UNICODE or ANSI according to the option of each version chosen.
 
Screen66.png
Screen66.png (31.33 KiB) Viewed 3904 times
 
As you can see in the figure above, four projects were opened in different versions (different IDE as well). This differentiation of having an extra shortcut side by side and not over by over is from the operating system itself because it interprets that they are different programs.

But if the same version of IDE is called with multiple projects these will be overriding the same shortcut in the TaskBar. This is typical of the operating system.
 
Screen67.png
Screen67.png (22.02 KiB) Viewed 3901 times
 
Three project open, three instances, same program (IDE.exe same version) all it's superimposed.