Page 9 of 10

Re: Yet another DBU

Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2011 4:42 pm
by JosK
With dba.exe i can not open this file:

proc main()
local i
rddsetdefault( "DBFCDX" )
dbcreate( "test", { {"USERID", "+", 4, 0 }, { "NAME", "C", 20, 0 } } )
//(autoincrement see + by userid)
use test
for i :=1 to 10
dbappend()
next

with hbide -> view -> idedbu it shows the test.dbf
(userid is 1, 2 to 10)

is there a dbu.exe of dba.exe that also kan open the autoincrement .dbf ?

Re: Yet another DBU

Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2011 6:10 pm
by esgici
JosK wrote:With dba.exe i can not open this file:
...
is there a dbu.exe of dba.exe that also kan open the autoincrement .dbf ?
Sadly, DBA doesn't support yet extended field types of Harbour :(

May be at the future ;)

Regards

--

Esgici

Re: Yet another DBU

Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2017 8:48 pm
by Leopoldo Blancas
Esgici: Is there another new version of DBA? :)
Greetings.

Re: Yet another DBU

Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2017 11:42 pm
by esgici
Leopoldo Blancas wrote:
Thu Jul 13, 2017 8:48 pm
Esgici: Is there another new version of DBA? :)
Greetings.
Thank to interest Leopoldo :)

But in my side sadly no :(

(Dear Louis Vasquez may works on it)

If exist such thing, will be announced first in this forum :arrow:

Happy HMG'ing :D

Re: Yet another DBU

Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 12:38 am
by Leopoldo Blancas
Thanks for answering Mr. Esgici !!!
regards

Re: Yet another DBU

Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 4:05 pm
by quartz565
Thank you my friend !!

Re: Yet another DBU

Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2018 7:06 pm
by ROBROS
Hi friends,
I have downloaded hmgdbu as well as dba, in both apps I have a menu item to modify structure. and I can do a "modi stru". But I haven't found a way to erase a field in either app.

Can someone help please? Or do I have to go back to dosbox, where dbase is installed, and do it by dbase prompt?

Anyway thanks for both apps.

TIA
Robert

Re: Yet another DBU

Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2018 9:03 pm
by esgici
ROBROS wrote:
Fri Nov 16, 2018 7:06 pm
Hi friends,
I have downloaded hmgdbu as well as dba, in both apps I have a menu item to modify structure. and I can do a "modi stru". But I haven't found a way to erase a field in either app.

Can someone help please? Or do I have to go back to dosbox, where dbase is installed, and do it by dbase prompt?

Anyway thanks for both apps.

TIA
Robert
Hi Robert

Modifying structure of .DB file is a highly complicated process; even for most sophisticated db manager software.

Complication depends details of modification; does field count, names , type etc changed or not ?

For simple modification process is also simple:

- Define a new structure for target dbf
- Build an empty dbf with that structure
- Append old dbf to new one via APPEND FROM command

Without changed field specifications (decreased or increased field counts) this method runs well.

Without M (memo) field type we have another method:

USE <oldDBfile>
- COPY TO <newDBfile> SDF

Do necessary editing on this SDF by using any text editor

Build and USE a new empty dbfile depending that SDF

APPEND FROM <oldDBfile>

That is all

Happy HMG'ing :D

Re: Yet another DBU

Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2018 10:02 am
by ROBROS
Hi esgici,

thank you,
that's a good solution.

Robert

Re: Yet another DBU

Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 7:07 pm
by Jeff Stone
Hi Robert,

Perhaps I am misunderstanding what you're intending to do, but I would try the following assuming:
fld_to_delete is the number of the field you want to delete
file_to_mod is the name of the dbf you are trying to modify/delete a field

copy structure extended to temp
use temp
goto fld_to_delete
delete next 1
pack
rename (file_to_mod) to temp2
create (file_to_mod) from temp
append from temp2
erase temp2.dbf
erase temp.dbf

Regards,

Jeff